Photo: Stuart Coleman©2013

Photo: Stuart Coleman©2013

Saddleworth Parish Council Chairman Councillor Graham Sheldon and other Parish Councillors accompanied by local gardening expert Frank Ashton visited gardens all across Saddleworth to seek out winners of the Saddleworth in Bloom competition. The presentation to the winners will be held at the Civic Hall in Uppermill on Tuesday 17th September, followed by a question and answer session hosted by Mr. Frank Ashton.

Container Garden

1st                    Mrs. Ann Smith                                             47 Platt Lane, Dobcross

2nd                   Mr. Tony & Mrs. Carol Higgins                  13 Shaw Hall Bank Rd, Greenfield

Small Garden

1st                    Mr. Edward Butterworth                              Lowood 2 Wimberry Close, Greenfield

2nd                   Mrs. Irene Chorlton                                     61 Nudger Green, Dobcross

3rd                   Mr. Horace & Mrs. Betty Howarth              19 Southgate, Dobcross

Medium Garden

1st                              Mr. John & Mrs Margery Hall                      11 Claytons Close, Springhead

2nd                   Dr. Eamon & Mrs. Pauline O’Daly                        22 Church Road, Uppermill

3rd                   Mr. Thomas Adamson                                46 Burnedge Lane, Grasscroft

Large Garden

1st                              Mr. Norman Jolly                                          Upper Gatehead Farm, Gatehead Road, Delph

Best Large Community Garden

1st                    Mrs. Sheila Cronley                                     85 Beech Avenue, Greenfield

2nd                   Mrs. Myra Shiel                                             9 Grove Street, Greenfield

Best Small Community Garden

1st                    Love Lydgate                                                Stockport Road, Lydgate

2nd                   Kath Lomas & Rachael Beadsworth       64 & 66 Burnedge Lane, Grasscroft

Best Blooming Pub

1st                    The Three Crowns                                      Huddersfield Road, Austerlands

2nd                   The Swan                                                      The Square, Dobcross

3rd                             The Old Original                                          Thurston Clough Road, Scouthead


For any further information, please contact Tony Marlor, Clerk of the Council on 01457 876665 or e-mail



Pin It on Pinterest

Share This